Flaxseed vs. Diabetes



What does the latest research on Vitamin D say? Subscribe to NutritionFacts.org’s free newsletter to receive an infographic summary of the main takeaways and Dr. Greger’s recommendations: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/

DESCRIPTION: A tablespoon of daily ground flax seeds for a month appears to improve fasting blood sugars, triglycerides, cholesterol, and hemoglobin A1c levels in diabetics. This video reminds me of the Prunes vs. Metamucil for Constipation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prunes-vs-metamucil-vs-vegan-diet) one, or any of those talking about various foods that may control blood sugar (Amla Versus Diabetes http://nutritionfacts.org/video/amla-versus-diabetes/), weight (Fat Burning Via Flavonoids http://nutritionfacts.org/video/fat-burning-via-flavonoids/), cholesterol (Dried Apples Versus Cholesterol http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dried-apples-versus-cholesterol/), or sexual dysfunction (Watermelon as Treatment for Erectile Dysfunction http://nutritionfacts.org/video/watermelon-as-treatment-for-erectile-dysfunction/). Yes, these foods may help, but why not get at the root of the problem and try to reverse the condition altogether with a healthier diet overall? That’s why I called my 2012 wrap-up Uprooting the Leading Causes of Death (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/uprooting-the-leading-causes-of-death/).

The two books I feature are the original classic from 2003, Defeating Diabetes (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/51264427) co-authored by my favorite dietician, Brenda Davis, and then in 2007 and 2012, from two of my medical mentors, Dr. Neal Barnard’s Program To Reverse Diabetes Now (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/85485215) and Dr. Joel Fuhrman’s The End of Diabetes (http://www.worldcat.org/oclc/795757572). In fact Fuhrman’s book is so new it wasn’t even out when I recorded this video for my volume 12 DVD (http://nutritionfacts.org/2013/01/07/new-nutrition-dvd-to-help-make-your-resolutions-more-resolutee-proceeds-to-charity/)!

This is my third flax video of the year. See what it can do against prostate cancer in my last two Flaxseed vs. Prostate Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flaxseed-vs-prostate-cancer/) and Was It the Flaxseed, Fat Restriction, or Both? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/was-it-the-flaxseed-fat-restriction-or-both). Next, we move on to Flaxseeds For Sensitive Skin (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flaxseeds-for-sensitive-skin/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/flaxseed-vs-diabetes/ and he’ll try to answer it!

Image Credit: sean dreilinger; Phú Thịnh Co; and grafixtek via Flickr.

https://NutritionFacts.org
• Subscribe: https://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe
• Donate: https://nutritionfacts.org/donate
• Podcast : https://nutritionfacts.org/audio
• Facebook: www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org
• Twitter: www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts
• Instagram: www.instagram.com/nutrition_facts_org
• Books (including the NEW How Not to Diet Cookbook): https://nutritionfacts.org/books
• Shop: https://drgreger.org

Source

Oils

Capsules

Gummies

Topical

Cannabis Pest Control
FEMS Yeast Research Webinar on Genomic Insights into Yeast Diversity
How to Smoke Medical Marijuana Properly
On the Renaissance and THC Shortbread Cookies
HOW TO MAKE WEED PASTA Ft
Alita Sikora, MD: Regenerative Medicine
Cannabis Pest Control
Seattle
Alita Sikora, MD: Regenerative Medicine
Seattle
The proper care and feeding of communities and carnivorous plants
Talk of the Town
HOW TO MAKE WEED PASTA Ft
Is CBD Hemp Oil Legal To Buy in All 50
What is CBD or Hemp Flower? What’s the difference between
HackTheBox – Walkthrough
FREE Webinar on the Entourage Effect
Cannabis Online Marketing Dos and Don’ts
Top 7 Ways To Use CBD
A Quick One Minute CBD Guide to understand the basics